Show compliance with one of the most important federal data security regulations.

The Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA) of 2002 establishes security guidelines to which federal agencies and those vendors or subcontractors that process, transmit, or store federal data must adhere. FISMA requires specific documentation, policies and procedures, and defined processes to be in place to meet the rigorous requirements of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

If your organization is engaged in commerce with a government agency, detailed and ongoing evidence of FISMA compliance is required. The ability to demonstrate FISMA compliance to stakeholders, potential business prospects, and government entities attests to your organization’s strong commitment to security controls

The Nine Steps to FISMA Compliance

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 800-53 outlines these steps:

  1. Categorize the information to be protected.
  2. Select minimum baseline controls.
  3. Refine controls using a risk assessment procedure.
  4. Document the controls in the system security plan.
  5. Implement security controls in appropriate information systems.
  6. Assess the effectiveness of the security controls after implementation.
  7. Determine agency-level risk to the mission or business case.
  8. Authorize the information system for processing.
  9. Monitor the security controls on a continuous basis.

See what our clients are saying about us.

You deserve a conversation, not a questionnaire.

We build long-term relationships through trust and value. If you’re looking for a trusted business advisor to build your holistic compliance strategy, let’s chat!